Into the Woods – Movie Review

Into the Woods was my first big movie disappointment of 2015. To be honest, I’m very glad I didn’t drag my husband to the cinema, he would not forgive me for some time. 2 hours of whining and absurd people (probably on magic mushrooms or beans) and not much sense in their actions. I haven’t read the book or seen the original play so my opinion will be based solely on the Disney’s movie.

There was so much I didn’t like about this movie, I just don’t know where to start.

The story is an absolute piece of dog poop. It has so many holes in the plot, that if it was a piece of cheese, there would be nothing to eat but the crust. I can’t tell much without spoiling, but the actions of characters in this movie are highly irrational – at many points I could not understand, if the characters really believes what they are saying? Everyone is so stupid and relies on the first thing someone tells them, like – Someone told me that my loved one is dead, I better believe them without even checking, if that’s true. I like fairy tales, but this mash-up didn’t quite work for me. I could give credit for sticking with some original parts of the scary original fairy tales (like pecking someone’s eyes out, or molesting your own body fro a chance to marry the prince), but it still didn’t do the trick for me.

It is a musical. I am not a particular fan of musicals, but I can watch them with great pleasure, if the story is right and the music is there to enhance the experience. Unfortunately, not in this case. The music sounded like a total rip-off from Sweeney Todd (I absolutely love this movie). At first I thought, maybe it’s the same composer, but NO, IMBD tells me it’s not. And the songs are really annoying. Into the Woods is a cheerful and idiotic tune that will stick in your mind and you won’t be able to get it out of your head for some time. Besides, the singing is not that good either. It was mediocre at best.

I was expecting much better acting skills. I was not impressed. It felt like amateur theatre play rather than a movie with decent and well known actors. Besides, Johnny Depp was there for only 3/4 minutes (let me remind you, the movie is 2 hours long), I feel so betrayed and disappointed.

On the bright side – visually this movie is quite spectacular, I won’t say it was not pleasant just because I didn’t like the rest of it. Turning out the sound and just watching the beautiful camera work, special effects and the amazing costumes would make me feel better about this movie. The colours are very nice – the contrasts of dark and bright, red and blue… Love it.

Overall I can’t give this movie mother than 5 out of 10. It was not good! Everything felt too cheesy and fake to me. Please, don’t bring children under the age of 10 to this movie, it’s too dark, depressing and violent for the younger audience. Some kids might even get nightmares after watching it. Disney is trying to get back to the roots of the fairy tales, but so far it seems that they are closer to the roots of all evil.

This entry was posted in Home, Movies, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

