The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared – Review

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared is the funniest, wittiest and most ridiculous movie I have seen in a really long time. Describing it shortly – it’s like Swedish Forest Gump, only instead of running you get explosions. After watching the movie I definitely wanted to read the book by Swedish author Jonas Jonasson.

The story starts with Allan being put in the home for elderly people, he is 100 years old and had a very interesting life, which is revealed piece by piece during the movie. He decides that the home for elderly people is not for him and so he climbs out of the window and his new adventures begin. I won’t spoil the story, but it involves mobsters, a large sum of money, random strangers becoming friends, people getting killed by accident, an elephant, and some unbelievable historic events. To be honest, I knew this story was supposed to be great, but I couldn’t even imagine that it will be so full of random and amazing nonsense, that comes together so perfectly.

This is a Swedish movie and as such it has some specific charm – it is quite simply made and concentrates on the story rather than special effects. I love European movies as they have more soul than the Hollywood spectacular interpretations. The movie is mostly in Swedish but there are some parts in other languages. It is very entertaining and full of dark humour. It’s completely different form the American situation comedies. Some jokes could be considered quite offensive, but I guess life is never kind to everybody in the same way. I like the small details like the places and the way of life in Sweden – I lived in Sweden for 6 months and enjoyed it very much, and this movie has the same feeling of living in remote places I felt while I lived there and travelled around the country. I felt connected to the characters and absolutely loved the “making history” moments. I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone, who likes dark humour and bizarre situations. I rate this movie by 9 out of 10 for the warm feeling and really making me laugh.

After watching the movie I got the audio book and it was just as good. I can say that the movie and the book go along very well. Even though not all adventures are included in the movie, some parts are made a bit different to make more sense in the shorter version. In book Allan has even more adventures and quite a happily ever after with someone special. I rate the book by 10 out of 10 because it is very well written and can work as sort of a crash course in history of the last 100 years.

This entry was posted in Home, Movies, Reviews, World of Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared – Review

  1. Dace says:

    Intriguing! ^^

    Like

Leave a Reply

