The Bookshop Book by Jen Campbell – Book Review

20631808I love books, bookshops and libraries and I absolutely love the Bookshop Book by Jen Campbell. This is a delightful book that brings the customers to the other side of the counter by telling the stories of bookshops around the world. This book praises the physical bookshops and I absolutely agree with the main idea – the bookshop is always need not because of the books it’s selling, but rather because of the atmosphere and special approach from the bookseller. There is nothing nicer than walking into a bookshop on a rainy day and finding some incredible books you never knew existed.

I got the book from the library and I am proud to tell that I was the first one to snatch it from the New Arrivals shelf. The librarian informed me, that he (yes, one of the male librarians) just put it on the shelf.

I like the style of this book. It is a great coffee-table read divided in chapters by countries. It contains interesting book facts, comments from writers, great interviews, and very vivid descriptions of bookshops. It is a relatively fast read and could become a great present for a book-lover (Christmas is closer than you think). It is very inspiring as it promotes the unconventional bookshops like The Book Barge in Lichfield or Shakespeare and Company in Paris.  Now I want to open my own bookshop even more than ever, and this book gave me some interesting ideas. I rate The Bookshop Book by 9 out of 10 (I would really like to see more pictures). Next time I go to London, I will use the bookshop map to find new treasures and explore new parts of this ever-surprising city.

On a similar note, I would also like to suggest reading The Library Book by Alan Bennett and Rebecca Gray. It is done in a similar style and is telling stories about significance of libraries in lives of people.

This entry was posted in Home, Reviews, World of Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Bookshop Book by Jen Campbell – Book Review

  1. Hemingways of Hermanus, Bookshop says:

    It is a pity (despite the fact that this book is really worthwhile reading 😉 ) that bookshop lovers/bloggers are so much focussed on bookshops in a few parts in Europe and the USA and seemingly are unaware of the different gems in South America and Africa …. etc.

    Like

    • Ella says:

      Finding the best bookshops before they get mega-popular is always a challenge. Best gems remain unnoticed, but we can change that by promoting these wonderful stores and sharing our experiences for the world to see. I personally haven’t yet been lucky enough to travel outside the EU, but even here I sometimes find great bookshops that I have never heard of before.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

