Lucy – Movie review

This will be a quick one because I don’t think this movie deserve a thorough review. It was not good enough for that. I wanted to see Lucy for a long time and it was a complete disappointment.

So the story can be very easily told by the trailer – a girl gets herself in trouble and is used as a vessel to smuggle drugs. The bag breaks and she gets the drug in her bloodstream. But it is not a usual drug, it is a synthetic CPH4 replica of metabolic enzyme which is supposedly increasing the brain power. In Lucy’s case, up to 100% of capacity.

I could only watch this movie as a si-fi comedy. Honestly, it was so unbelievable that I could put it in the box labelled “Worst movies ever”. And it was not the brain-power increase, which I could not believe, but rather the actions of “normal” humans. How can a random person  walk into a hospital with a gun in her hand and not get stopped before reaching the operation hall? How come the police simply believes her and does what she says? How come Pierre Del Rio doesn’t try to stop her, when she is driving so recklessly? How can a special squad not notice a bunch of Asians unloading so many guns right in front of them? Seriously? I won’t even talk about the whole knowledge of the universe being put on a Flash Drive (I laughed so loud because I guessed it would happen as a joke just seconds before it did). No, really? This is so stupid, I can’t even find any good points about the story line. It did make me laugh a lot, though. If you watch it as a comedy, it is not completely bad. The visual effects are interesting and the idea itself is fascinating, but the execution was incredibly bad. Even the acting was bad (I like Scarlett Johansson but not in this movie). I rate it by 4 out of 10.   I was expecting so much more out of it.

This entry was posted in Home, Movies, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lucy – Movie review

  1. raven says:

    This is why i hate critics. They completely miss the point of the movie, which is to entertain, and instead decide to pick every single thing apart in the movie as if it was a real life story. 1 she is able to walk throught the hospital with the gun because belive it or not humans tend to pay ore attention to themselves than others. Meaning they arent so easily gonna notice someone having a gun unless A) they are looking for someone with a gun or B) the person with the gun starts killing people with it. 2) The officer just witnessed Lucy put an entire group of people to sleep in the blink of an eye so its pretty safe to say that with the chaos of her insane driving as well as his curiousity coupled with fear of her immense power that he would be inclined to just sit and make jokes ( as a coping mechanism) rather than stop her. 3) Police officers in other countries dont work the same as in America. When they are given an order they follow it. They dont stand outside taking a piss looking at the scenery so its not out of the question for them not to have taken notice. Also if you notice where they are unloading the guns and where the officers are running to that their view would be blocked by the numerous vehicles that they are unloading the weapons from. As for the flash drive people keep thinking its outdated because of the cloud feature but since they still make flash drives and people still use them regularly (due to the fact that cloud isnt as secure and most are lead to believe) its not totally out of the question for information to be passed along in that form. I did find the E.T. reference in the movie to be quiet amusing which is surprising no one noticed that. Honestly Critics should not bother to watch movies or read books or eat food or do whatever it is they tend to critisize because honestly they never enjoy themselves and they always seems to annoy everyone else with their blathering. Next time you are going to critique a movie please look at the other possibilities as to why they did what they did in the movie rather than just scrugging it off and hating on it.

    Like

    • Ella says:

      I value your opinion and I’m glad that you liked this movie. I don’t try to criticise everything for the sake of criticism. I genuinely thought that this movie will be great before I started watching it. I simply couldn’t justify many errors I pointed out and many others, which I left out in my review. I really liked the general idea of what increased brain power could achieve, but all this running around and taking out bad guys was ridiculous. Also, could you really believe that the answers to most important questions of human existence would fit in one flash-drive?

      Like

      • raven says:

        To be honest yes. For those answers, for all we know, could fit in the palm of our hands.

        Like

        • Ella says:

          Maybe, if we stick to the answer 42 🙂
          (In case you are not familiar with this reference, you should watch The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, which, in my humble opinion, was a better Si-Fi movie than Lucy)

          Like

          • raven says:

            If life was that simple scientists wouldnt still be trying to find the answers to our very existance. In all honesty i dont believe there is a reason we exist. We just are. As for the movie i did enjoy it. The only flaw i found was the 100% brain access. I dont really believe something like that would be possible. Not with how our bodies are designed. But thankfully They did show that the body would indeed shutdown if it accessed more than it could truely handle. Of course they beefed it up a bit and made it sci fi but in retro spect they body would indeed shut down once the brain access a certain point of capacity. Like they say, body and mind are one. Oh and i dont watch comedies so that hitch hiker quote is rather lost on me.

            Like

            • Ella says:

              The 100% brain access was the main reason I watched the movie in the first place. I was mostly disappointed by the weak execution and many flaws, which had to do with the “normal” people in this movie. I am open-minded about strange thing happening in fictional worlds, but I get agitated by things like weird physics and badly created charters in any movie. I was expecting so much more form Luc Besson (Fifth Element, Leon and Wasabi are great movies), this one just didn’t work for me.

              Like

              • raven says:

                I honestly didnt pay much attention to his acting but rather the feeling behind it and the meaning as well as storyline and plot and i found it to be a quite enjoyable movie. Besides sometimes you have to look past the bad acting although its understandable if the acting is too bad that it would make the movie unwatchable. But it really wasnt that bad. And scarlet’s portrayal of the main character seemed (to me at least) to be right on the money so it over shadowed anything he did.

                Like

                • raven says:

                  Sorry im eating and typing at the same time so if what i typed didnt make sense that fine. My point is you cant let a little bit of bad acting ruin a good thing. After all people will naturally and instinctively search out flaws and mistakes in any and everything. They have to teach themselves to not do that. Those that can can will enjoy the movie those that cant become critics. 🙂

                  Like

                • Ella says:

                  Probably my problem is to scrutinise all information (movies, books, journals, blogs or any other kind of information) – old uni habit of critical thinking that can’t be easily shaken off. I just see too may ways, how this could be a much better that I can’t help not liking it overall. Minor details like camera work, special effects, acting and plausibility of the story is very important criteria for me. There were some elements I liked, but they don’t outweigh the other things I found ridiculous. Anyhow, I’m glad that you liked the movie and thank you for this extensive discussion.

                  Like

Leave a Reply

