Movie night: Sin City 2; Inbetweeners 2; The Fault in Our Stars

Recently my hubby and I indulged in watching 3 new movies. We had a little marathon and I’m glad we did. We watched Sin City 2: A Dame To Kill For; Inbetweeners 2; and The Fault in Our Stars. I didn’t have high expectations for any of these but they turned out to be better than I anticipated. I don’t want to spoil anything by giving out too much details but I want to share my emotional state while watching these films.

Sin City 2: a Dame to Kill for.

We both loved Sin City (first movie) and there was no second guessing about which movie we should watch in the cinema. Usually we go for the 2D version but in our cinema Sin City 2 was only in 3D. To be honest, I was pleasantly surprised. The 3D was absolutely lovely – the graphic novel style of the movie looked great and very aesthetic (yes, killing people and chopping their heads off may be aesthetic too). Black and white with a splash of colour. Beautiful. I especially loved the effect of 3D snowflakes.

Regarding the plot, I could say that I liked it more than the first part as part 2 was mostly about vendetta rather than maniacal killing. I also found some moments very funny (please don’t judge my liking of black humour, I was raised on it). I was not disgusted by the violent scenes. Some heads were chopped off, some bones got broken, and a lot of blood was shed. Nonetheless, it was not as disgusting as in many other movies. This is a sequel and some things might seem cloudy, if you haven’t seen the first part. Some of the characters of the first movie come back, some new ones come in as well – I particularly liked Johnny (Joseph Gordon-Levitt). My personal all time favourite is Marv – he has nothing to lose and just doesn’t care about anything. You might like this movie, if you liked the first part or like movies like Kill Bill. My rating 8 out of 10.

The next movie we watched was Inbetweeners 2. Yes, I know, it’s stupid. If you ever watched the series or the first movie, you will know what I’m talking about. If not, it is about 4 total losers. The second movie is set in Australia. The guys want to have fun but as always everything goes wrong. I can’t imagine that it would be possible in real life to be so stupid, immature and unlucky as these guys are. New people, new setting, new adventures. Probably not really funny, if you don’t like black humour or really stupid jokes. I would say that the problems are very British but also other nationalities could relate to same problems – relationships, popularity and personal dreams.

If you like very stupid comedies with lame jokes (like laughing about poop in someone’s face) this is a movie for you. You might also like it, if you liked American Pie (any part). My rating 6 out of 10. It was good for a bad comedy but not very good as a film.

And the last film was The Fault in Our Stars.

Yes, I only watched it recently. I was pleasantly surprised that it didn’t deviate from the book that much. Usually I would be sitting in my chair and making comments about things, which were much different in the book. Not this time. Main points were in place, the setting and choice of actors was good too. Hazel and Augustus – star-crossed lovers of the year? Maybe. I don’t think there is a movie this year, which would have so much romance in it without making you puke rainbows and glitter (sorry, I’m not a fan of romantic films). This is a movie about love, death, hope and cancer. Some good jokes, some passion, and loads of emotions. No, I didn’t cry (I almost never cry at movies) but my husband was shushing me when I wanted to comment on something. He doesn’t watch chick flicks but this is more than that – Augustus Waters surely is romantic but he also has this manly vibe. If you haven’t read the book by John Green and don’t have intention to do so but want to understand what’s the fuss about, watch the movie. We watched the extended (over 2 hours) version and it was very good. If you have been living in a cave for the past year, I can tell you that The Fault in Our Stars is one of the most popular things out there, and you should definitely check it out. I rate it as 7 out of 10.

This entry was posted in Home, Movies, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

