Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell

17350491Just a minute ago I finished reading this wonderful book. I almost finished it yesterday but I couldn’t keep my eyes open for so long and I left 2 last chapters for today. Oh my! This book is light as a feather – not for the reason that it is a paperback but rather the feeling it leaves in your heart.

The story is quite unusual – after a shipwreck a little girl is found floating in a cello case and she gets raised by a single man named Charles. He decides that the girl he found is his responsibility and he names her Sophie. Charles never had a kid of his own before and has no idea how to raise a child. He decides to teach the little girl everything hi knows knows himself –  how to read, how to appreciate life, how to be polite, how to climb trees and never ignore a possibility no matter how small it is. The social worker assigned to this case is not happy about his teaching methods. No child should be covered in dirt, eat from books rather than plates, write on the walls and in no circumstances a girl should wear trousers. This is unacceptable! The child should be removed and placed in an orphanage.

Neither Sophie of Charles is happy about this decision. No matter what everybody say, Sophie believes she can clearly remember her mother and she truly believes she is alive. One day Sophie finds a clue in the cello case and persuades Charles to follow this clue and so they leave to try their luck in Paris. Sophie must hide as she could be taken back to London and Charles would end up in jail for abducting her and so she finds the only place where she can feel a little bit of freedom – on the rooftop.

I will only say that she meets someone special on the rooftop and finds out about the Rooftoppers. Who they are and what they do? You will have to read the book to find out.

This book is full of hope, dreams and reliance that everything will be all right in the end. No matter what is “normal” for other people, you should pursue your personal dreams even if the chances are very slim. You never know how far you will get but the journey will be worth it.

I really like the characters in this book. Even though the book is only 278 pages long, it reveals several distinct personalities. I could relate to them, I would want to meet them in real life, I would like to become friends with them. There is no sugar-coating in this book. The life might be tough. People are mean and can destroy your life in a second but to survive you have to stay strong and true to yourself.

I really liked the story and the style of this book. There is something of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and something of Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren. The end might be predictable but the journey to the finish line is very gripping. I found out about this book from the numerous BookTube videos I watched over the last month and got the book from the public library. I would say that at some point I may want to reread it.The style and choice of words and expressions makes this book a very easy read. It is considered to be a children’s book but I don’t see any reason an adult wouldn’t like it. It would be a nice present for either a girl or a boy who likes to read. This book is as close to feminism for children as it might get without shouting about it. Sophie is a very strong character and Charles is very supportive. I think any child should read something like this to understand that any dream is important and there is no need to become like anybody else.

I want to rate this book by 9 out of 10. That is my personal opinion and I hope you will be inspired to read this book too.

This entry was posted in Home, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell

  1. Pingback: My summer reading list | Ella's Nest

Leave a Reply

