Eggplant, bell pepper and potato roast

I really like to cook. I do it every day and like to try out and invent new recipes. Today I tried out this recipe form my vegetarian cookbook and it turned out so nice that I wanted to share it.

Eggplant, bell pepper and potato roast

Eggplant, bell pepper and potato roast

Ingredients:

  • 1 sliced eggplant
  • 2 potatoes pealed and sliced into cubes
  • 1 red bell pepper sliced into cubes
  • 1 big tomato pealed and chopped into pieces
  • 1/2 of a chopped onion
  • 1 chopped garlic clove
  • olive oil (or sunflower oil) for frying
  • salt
  • spices (I used Persilade mix)
  • a bit of cheese for topping

Preparation:

  1. Eggplants should be made soft by salting them and leaving for 1 hour to get the juices out. After this time rinse the eggplants and drain them. Napkins can be used for the best result.
  2. Boil the oil in a pot and deep fry small portions of eggplants for about 5 minutes each (until they get soft). Take out form oil using a skimmer spoon. *Don’t use high temperature to avoid spoiling the oil.
  3. Use the same oil for frying potatoes. It also takes about 5 minutes to make them golden. Make sure that potatoes are sliced in small cubes.
  4. Start frying bell peppers together with onions in a frying-pan. Temperature should be low. Add garlic.In some minutes add tomatoes. Sauté for about 10-15 minutes.
  5. Preheat the oven to about 180’C
  6. Put all ingredients together in a baking tray, add a bit of salt and shred some cheese on top. Use your favourite spices. Put into the oven for about 15-20 minutes.

Voilà!

It might seem to take enormous amount of time. Everything took me about 1,5h. I started with eggplants and did the rest during the time of softening them. You can try to do several things at the same time – frying potatoes and chopping tomatoes, for example.  I always wash all dishes I used in the preparation process while waiting for the meal to be cooked. Two rabbits with one shot – the kitchen is spotless and I can keep an eye on my dish ;).

*This is a vegan recipe, if you avoid using cheese.

This entry was posted in Home, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eggplant, bell pepper and potato roast

  1. Sounds like a perfect and easy lunch!

    Like

    • Ella says:

      Indeed. It took me a bit more time than usual, but it was totally worth it :). I’m planning to put more easy and delicious recipes in the future. Have so many of my personal favourites I would like to share with the world 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

